List Seminars

Coordinators:
Leo Margolis (ICMAT-CSIC) & Alejandra Garrido (ICMAT-UAM)

External website: here

List of Group Theory Seminar by year:

Rational representations and Lück approximation

Speaker:  Henrique Souza
Date:  Tuesday, 12 December 2023 - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

 

Past Group Theory Seminar 2023

Braided multitwists in the mapping class group

Speaker:  Rodrigo de Pool
Date:  Tuesday, 05 December - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

On vanishing criteria of L^2-Betti numbers of groups

Speaker:  Pablo Sánchez-Peralta
Date:  Tuesday, 28 November - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

A finitely presented group with a cohomology class which is weakly bounded but not bounded

Speaker:  Dario Ascari
Date:  Tuesday, 21 November - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

Virtually free-by-cyclic groups, one-relator groups and coherence

Speaker:  Marco Linton
Date:  Tuesday, 14 November - 11:30
Place:  Aula Gris 2, ICMAT

Fundamental groups of 3-manifolds

Speaker:  Cyril Lecuire
Date:  Tuesday, 07 November - 11:30
Place:  Sala Naranja, ICMAT

Counting subgroups using Stallings automata and generalizations

Speaker:  Paloma López Larios
Date:  Tuesday, 31 October - 11:30
Place:  Sala Naranja, ICMAT

The quadratic Diophantine problem in Baumslag-Solitar groups

Speaker:  Richard Mandel
Date:  Tuesday, 17 October - 11:30
Place:  Sala Naranja, ICMAT

The Strongest Tits Alternative

Speaker:  Yago Antolín
Date:  Tuesday, 03 October - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

Non-isomorphic 2-groups with isomorphic modular group algebras refined

Speaker:  Taro Sakurai
Date:  Tuesday, 26 September - 11:30
Place:  Aula Gris 3, ICMAT

On the local-global correspondence of conjugacy classes

Speaker:  Taro Sakurai
Date:  Tuesday, 19 September - 11:30
Place:  Aula 520, Módulo 17, Departamento de Matemáticas, UAM

Torsion normal generators of the mapping class group of a nonorientable surface

Speaker:  Marta Lesniak
Date:  Tuesday, 12 September - 11:30
Place:  Aula 520, Módulo 17, Departamento de Matemáticas, UAM

Agol Lab Seminar

Speaker:  Nicholas Vlamis (CUNY) & Xiaolei Wu (Fudan University)
Date:  Thursday, 08 June - 10:00-12:30
Place:  Aula Naranja ICMAT

Finite shadows of infinite groups: What do they hide?

Speaker:  Alan Reid
Date:  Wednesday, 07 June - 12:00
Place:  Aula 115, Facultad de Matemáticas, Universidad Complutense de Madrid

The Gruenberg-Kegel graph of rational and inverse semirational groups

Speaker:  Ángel del Río
Date:  Friday, 02 June - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

Hausdorff dimension and Hausdorff spectra in profinite groups

Speaker:  Iker de las Heras
Date:  Tuesday, 23 May - 11:30
Place:  Aula Gris 2, ICMAT

The search for a k-geodetic group

Speaker:  Murray Elder
Date:  Thursday, 18 May - 11:30
Place:  Aula Gris 3, ICMAT

Computing differentials in spectral sequences

Speaker:  Lander Guerrero Sánchez
Date:  Tuesday, 16 May - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

Sigma invariants and Artin groups

Speaker:  Conchita Martínez Pérez
Date:  Tuesday, 09 May - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

An Automaton Group with PSPACE-Complete Word Problem

Speaker:  Armin Weiß
Date:  Thursday, 04 May - 11:30
Place:  Aula Gris 3, ICMAT

Quasi-Isometries for certain Right-Angled Coxeter Groups

Speaker:  Alexandra Edletzberger
Date:  Tuesday, 25 April - 11:30
Place:  Aula Gris 2, ICMAT

Hopfian wreath products and the stable finiteness conjecture

Speaker:  Francesco Fournier-Facio
Date:  Tuesday, 18 April - 11:30
Place:  Aula 520, Módulo 17, Departamento de Matemáticas, UAM

Finitely presented Bestvina-Brady groups

Speaker:  Mallika Roy
Date:  Tuesday, 11 April - 11:30
Place:  Aula Gris 2, ICMAT

Commuting probability for subgroups of a finite group

Speaker:  Pavel Shumyatsky
Date:  Tuesday, 28 March - 11:30
Place:  Aula Roja, ICMAT

The Buzz About the BHZ: The Life and Times of Brauer’s Height Zero Conjecture

Speaker:  Mandi Schaeffer-Fry
Date:  Tuesday, 21 March - 11:30
Place:  Aula Roja, ICMAT

The homology of big mapping class groups

Speaker:  Martin Palmer
Date:  Tuesday, 14 March - 11:30
Place:  Aula Roja, IFT

Near actions

Speaker:  Yves de Cornulier
Date:  Wednesday, 08 March - 10:00
Place:  Aula Roja, IFT

Acyclicity in bounded cohomology

Speaker:  Marco Moraschini
Date:  Tuesday, 28 February - 11:30
Place:  Aula 520, Módulo 17, Departamento de Matemáticas, UAM

Finite sets (containing zero) are mapping degree sets

Speaker:  Vicente Muñoz
Date:  Tuesday, 21 February - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

Group-graded algebras and the intrinsic fundamental group

Speaker:  Ofir Schnabel
Date:  Tuesday, 14 February - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

Units in group rings and representation theory of groups of prime order

Speaker:  Leo Margolis
Date:  Tuesday, 07 February - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

Maximal Subgroups of Thompson`s group V

Speaker:  Rachel Skipper
Date:  Tuesday, 31 January - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

Analogues of L2-Betti numbers in positive characteristic and homology growth

Speaker:  Sam Fisher
Date:  Tuesday, 24 January - 11:30
Place:  Aula Naranja, ICMAT

L^2-Betti numbers and algebraic fibring

Speaker:  Sam Fisher
Date:  Friday, 20 January - 11:30
Place:  Aula Gris 2, ICMAT